Answer Save. I decide to share my own experience with everyone here. What about Undergraduate and Graduate Students? Update: like as a title. More and more PI’s are creating contracts with students that outline expectations. My name is Sarah Knapp and I am a 5th year graduate student in the Social/Personality area, proudly co-advised by Dr. Elizabeth Davis and Dr. Kate Sweeny (Life Events Lab).From a functionalist perspective, I study what motivates emotion generation and regulation, and what emotion generation and regulation motivate behaviorally and cognitively (action-tendencies). Compliance  Contact Us, ©2020 University of Massachusetts Amherst • Site Policies • Site Contact. My PI, having been a graduate student during the Great Recession, said to me that one of the hardest parts of research is expecting change. However, when a Sponsor’s guidelines require a student to be listed as PI in the proposal, the student’s mentor/advisor will be the PI on the Internal Processing Form and will be responsible for the conduct and oversight of the project. You should be going to seminars and journal clubs and meet-ups. The letter of rec is a bonus, but if you go in with that being your goal, you're gonna have a bad time. Without a graduate degree, you typically invest time working your way up through the ranks of a given field. The benefit to both should be evident in the proposal. Graduate school is a great time to learn how to network. I'm asking in this subreddit because I'm hoping to get a good letter of recommendation from him eventually. You shouldn’t just be doing experiments and reading papers by yourself in some corner. However, knowing what is expected of you and what you expect of your PI can do wonders for your communication. I just didn't understand the titles. What is a Principal Investigator (PI)? Graduate students in those disciplines (e.g., arts, humanities, PI is principle investigator. 10 years ago. Truth #1: Graduate School Is Not School at All, but an